B.Ed in Urdu through distance education
I have been a primary school teacher in a Urdu school for the past four years. I have completed B.A. in the optionals of History, Economics and Sociology. I also have a TCH which has helped me to become a teacher. Would it be possible to pursue B.Ed in Urdu as first choice and English as second choice? My first preference would be through distance education. If not available, I would like to pursue the same in the campus mode. Please guide me in this regard.

There are many like you who have not probed the dynamics of the qualitative B.Ed programme either through the campus mode or Open and Distance Learning (ODL). You can pursue the campus mode by taking the admission test meant for entry into B.Ed that the Government of Karnataka Conducts. But for this, you will have to apply for leave and then pursue the programme. This, of course, will be in English. If the need arises, you could pursue the ODL B.Ed from Indira Gandhi National Open University CLGNOU) (www.ignou.acin) or Karnataka State Open University (KSOU).

The Maulana Azad National Urdu University (MANUU) (www.manuu.ac.in ), a Central University with a national character similar to IGNOU, offers the one year regular B.Ed programme in Urdu medium. However, the campus- based programme is offered in the headquarters located in Hyderabad.
MANUU has also launched the two-year B.Ed programme as a joint degree with IGNOU, which you can pursue. The programme is offered at Hyderabad, New Delhi, Lucknow, Bangalore, Bhopal and Patna.
The notification for the distance education programme will be made in due course, and you should take up the all-India entrance test and make yourself eligible. Not only will you have to pass the eligibility test, you should possess a minimum continuing service of two years. In your case, you have four years of service. Hence, you are eligible. You could opt for Bangalore as your study centre.