Structure of RBI
The organization of RBI can be divided into three parts:
1) Central Board of Directors.
2) Local Boards
3) Offices of RBI

1.Central Board of Directors :
The organization and management of RBI is vested on the Central Board of Directors. It is responsible for the management of RBI.Central Board of Directors consist of 20 members. It is constituted as follows.
a)One Governor: it is the highest authority of RBI. He is appointed by the Government of India for a term of 5 years. He can be re-appointed for another term.
b)Four Deputy Governors: Four deputy Governors are nominated by Central Govt. for a term of 5 years
c)Fifteen Directors :Other fifteen members of the Central Board are appointed by the Central Government. Out of these , four directors,one each from the four local Boards are nominated by the Government separately by the Central Government.

Ten directors nominated by the Central Government are among the experts of commerce, industries, finance, economics and cooperation. The finance secretary of the Government of India is also nominated as Govt. officer in the board. Ten directors are nominated for a period of 4 years. The Governor acts as the Chief Executive officer and Chirman of the Central Board of Directors. In his absence a deputy Governor nominated by the Governor, acts as the Chirman of the Central Board. The deputy governors and government’s officer nominee are not entitled to vote at the meetings of the Board. The Governor and four deputy Governors are full time officers of the Bank.

2. Local Boards :
Besides the central board, there are local boards for four regional areas of the country with their head-quarters at Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, and New Delhi. Local Boards consist of five members each, appointed by the central Government for a term of 4 years to represent territorial and economic interests and the interests of co-operatives and indigenous banks. The function of the local boards is to advise the central board on general and specific issues referred to them and to perform duties which the central board delegates.

3. Offices of RBI:
The Head office of the bank is situated in Mumbai and the offices of local boards are situated in Delhi, Kolkata and Chennai. In order to maintain the smooth working of banking system, RBI has opened local offices or branches in Ahmedabad, Bangalore, Bhopal, Bhubaneshwar, Chandigarh, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Nagpur, Patna, Thiruvananthpuram, Kochi, Lucknow and Byculla (Mumbai). The RBI can open its offices with the permission of the Government of India. In places where there are no offices of the bank, it is represented by the state Bank of India and its associate banks as the agents of RBI.
it is nice. some of the current events to be added. eg current office bearers

Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)